What’s in a Haircut

Have you ever looked in the mirror and said to yourself, “I look boring today. I looked this way yesterday, I look this way today, and I’ll probably look this way tomorrow.”
(Sigh) Sad, isn’t it?

And all of a sudden I see my roommate, Lady, walk in the room and I’m like, “Oh my gosh you had a haircut!” And she jokingly says, “Really?! I didn’t notice!” And laughs.

A week after that, here comes Abi, my other roommate (we’re 8 in the room, by the way), walks in the room and my jaw drops. She is now sporting full bangs. So I look at myself in the mirror and once again, I look uber boring and I ask myself when was the last time I had a haircut; and surprisingly I couldn’t remember when that was—definitely a really big sign right in front of my face: I need a haircut.

Which is why this afternoon, when my friends and I were on our way to school from McDonald’s, I was watching Raphaelle’s hair (which underwent herb spa) shining and flowing effortlessly with the wind; I impulsively decided to make a detour.

“Guys, I’m gonna go this way,” I said when we reached the intersection. I walked a few steps to my right away from them and with a deep breath I stopped to say, “I’m gonna get a haircut,” with finality. 🙂

Leave a Reply

