Laying Low

I have to lay low.

Yes that is exactly how I feel right now and that is exactly what I need to do.
But how can I? I know that now is definitely not a good time to show signs of weakness or indecisiveness but I know that laying low is what I need as of this moment.

“Lay low on your dancing for now.”

I had finally heard these words come out of my mother’s mouth. I had thought of the same notion once or twice but I never said it aloud. I don’t want the thought to become reality and I don’t want to have to face the reality of having to choose between dance and my future diploma.

Lord, can’t I have both? Others that came before me had made it happen for themselves and had acquired both throughout their college lives. Somehow though, I know I differ from them.

These past few years of training in dance, I have seen a considerable amount of improvement in terms of my skill–modesty aside. If I were to assess how that happened, it was because I gave so much time, effort, and concentration into perfecting my craft(dance) that improvement was a natural phenomenon. Because I was paying so much attention to dance, unknowingly I had neglected my course and my studies.

I was not doing horribly but I know within me that if the time and energy I allotted for dance were used for my schoolwork, I would have excelled. It seems that I can only focus on one thing at a time. I just hate doing something while I’m thinking of another. This is usually why I end up doing such lousy work. I’m doing a certain work. say for example paper work, but then my mind is also wandering to that new routine we are working on and that I have to practice.

The 24 hours in a day is not enough to do all things that need to be done–especially when my body needs to snooze during very untimely hours. I work during the night: Dance and schoolwork; which leads me skipping classes because I tend to drowse off until noon.

I often wonder if I’m growing old too fast because my body cannot tolerate sleeping so late while doing so much anymore.

Still developing a solution for this problem, however, I know that laying low right now is not in the list of options. By hook or by crook, I will make this work, or I will die trying.

Leave a Reply

